Skip to content

When it is legal to carry a handgun in Texas?

In Texas it is not legal to carry a handgun outside of your own premise. Although the law was recently updated by the Texas Legislature, when it passed a bill in 2015  allowing concealed handgun permit holders to begin carrying handguns openly outside of your their premise. The bill was signed into law on June 13, 2015, and took effect on January 1, 2016. A permit to carry concealed is still required to carry a handgun in public. For those without a concealed handgun permit, Texas law also allows a person to carry a shotgun or rifle, either open or concealed, in a non-threatening or alarming manner. Under Texas law there are several places where a person may possess a handgun legally (by legally we mean without the benefit of Texas Concealed Handgun License).

These places include –

  • The person’s residence or any other property under his control
  • The person’s private motor vehicle or watercraft if in case the handgun is concealed
  • The person engaged in lawful fishing, hunting, or other sporting activity can carry a handgun

How can you obtain a concealed handgun license in Texas?

In order to obtain a concealed handgun license, you should apply at the city or town clerk’s office. You must be
21 years

  • A legal resident of Texas
  • Capable of exercising sound judgment
  • Qualified to carry a handgun under federal law.
  • Also; you should not
  • Have been convicted of a felony offense
  • Have committed offenses in the past ten years even as a juvenile delinquent
  • Be under a court protective order
  • Be a chemically dependent person

Concealed Handgun Laws in the State of Texas –

Texas firearm law allows carrying concealed handguns with a Texas Concealed Handgun License (CHL). According to the gun law, the gun holder however should be able to produce his concealed weapons license along with a valid identification document if and when demanded by the police officer.
Furthermore, even with a CHL, Texas law in certain cases prohibits carrying these weapons under the following circumstances

  • An intoxicated person may not carry a concealed handgun
  • Carrying firearm at an amusement park if in case there’s a proper TPC §30.06 warning given.
  • In a place of religious worship if in case there’s a proper TPC §30.06 warning given.
  • In a hospital or nursing home if in case there’s a proper TPC §30.06 warning given.
  • At any correctional facility
  • Within 1000 feet of a correctional facility
  • In any court or offices
  • At the polling place on Election Day.
  • At any meeting of any governmental body if in case there’s a proper TPC §30.06 warning given.
  • At any high school, collegiate, professional sporting event
  • Inside the secured area of any airport (the person may legally carry firearm into the terminal that is checked as baggage to be lawfully transported)

Getting Legal Help

Charges for weapon offenses can have serious effects on your life, career and future. In Dallas if you have been charged with firearm or weapon offense chances are you may not even realize you were violating the law.
You may be charged with a criminal offense if you unlawfully carry gun or improperly discharge the firearm. Depending on the type of weapon, and place where it is carried, the punishment range can vary.

Building a strong defense is therefore the key factor in protecting your rights.

Have a challenging case? Get a free consultation by our experts today!